Robert Anton Wilson – 8 Circuit Psychology

Robert Anton Wilson - 8 Circuit Psychology 1/7

Robert Anton Wilson, author of The Illuminatus! Trilogoy, explains the 8 circuit model of consciousness expounded in his book Prometheus Rising.

Robert Anton Wilson - 8 Circuit Psychology 2/7

Eight-Circuit Model of Consciousness

The 8-Circuit Model of Consciousness is a model of consciousness proposed by Dr. Timothy Leary. Leary believed the mind is best viewed as a collection of 8 "circuits", also called "gears" or "mini-brains". Each stage is claimed to represent a higher stage of evolution than the one before it. Some of his ideas may be viewed as protoscience but others may view it as pseudoscience

Leary presented a model based on the lateralization of brain function but taking his conclusions further than orthodox neuropsychology warrants. The first four levels, which Leary presumed to reside in the left lobe of the cerebrum, are concerned with the survival of organisms on earth; the other four, which Leary suggested are found in the right lobe, are for use in the future evolution of humans, and remain dormant in the majority of human beings. There is no scientific evidence for these assertions — indeed, scientific evidence would appear at this stage to contradict them.

Robert Anton Wilson - 8 Circuit Psychology 3/7